

# FOR PUBLICATION

### DERBYSHIRE COUNTY COUNCIL

### COUNCIL

#### 26 May 2021

#### Report of the Director of Legal and Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer

#### Honorary Alderman and Alderwoman

#### 1 Purpose

1.1 To consider in principle those former Members to whom the Council wishes to confer the roles of Honorary Alderman and Alderwoman at a specially convened meeting.

#### 2 Information and Analysis

2.1 Following the recent election, the political groups have been invited to put forward nominations for those former Members they would wish to be considered as Honorary Alderman and Alderwoman. The Council is permitted to confer these titles on persons who have in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as past members. The following nominations have now been received to add to the roll held by the Director of Legal and Democratic Services and Monitoring Officer.

- a) The Conservative Group Leader has nominated to confer the titles on former councillors Kevin Buttery, Linda Chilton, Pat Murray, Judith Twigg and George Wharmby.
- b) The Labour Group have nominated former councillors Irene Ratcliffe, Paul Smith, Anne Western and David Wilcox.

c) The Liberal Democrat Group have nominated former councillor Beth Atkins

2.2 It is proposed that the Council considers the above nominations in principle so that, if agreed, the formality of agreeing to confer the title would be made at a specially convened meeting, as is required by law, to take place immediately prior to the Council meeting on 14 July 2021. To confer the honorary title, the Council must pass a resolution at that meeting by not less than two-thirds of the Members present at that meeting.

# 3 Alternative Options Considered

3.1 Not to consider conferring the title of Honorary Alderman and Alderwoman.

# 4 Implications

4.1 Appendix 1 sets out the relevant implications considered in the preparation of the report.

# 5 Consultation

5.1 Not applicable.

# 6 Background Papers

6.1 None.

# 7 Appendices

7.1 Appendix 1: Implications.

# 8 Recommendations

- 8.1 That Council:
  - (a) supports in principle the proposal:
  - (i) to confer the title of Honorary Alderwoman upon former Councillors E Atkins, L Chilton, I Ratcliffe, J A Twigg and A Western.

- to confer the title of Honorary Alderman upon former Councillors K Buttery, P Murray, P Smith, G Wharmby, D Wilcox and G Wharmby.
- (b) agrees to convene a special meeting of the Council on 14 July 2021 to formally consider the nominations.

#### 9 Reasons for Recommendations

9.1 To formally recognise those individuals who have rendered eminent service as past members.

9.2 To comply with the provisions of the Local Government Act 1972, conferring the title of Alderman and Alderwoman, needs to be approved at a specially convened meeting of full Council.

#### Report Author: Roy Ackrill

**Contact details:** roy.ackrill@derbyshire.gov.uk

#### This report has been approved by the following officers:

On behalf of:	
Director of Legal Services and Monitoring Officer Director of Finance and ICT Managing Executive Director Executive Director(s)	HEB

Appendix 1

### **Implications**

### Financial

1.1 None

# Legal

2.1 Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972 enables a principal council to confer the title of honorary aldermen or honorary alderwomen on persons who have in the opinion of the Council rendered eminent service as past members. To confer the honorary title, the Council must pass a resolution by not less than two-thirds of the Members present at that meeting.

2.2 An honorary alderman or alderwoman may attend and take part in such civic ceremonies as the council may from time to time decide, but shall not have the right—

(a) to attend meetings of the council or a committee of the council (including a joint committee upon which they are represented); or

(b) to receive any allowances or other payments.

### Human Resources

3.1 None

# Information Technology

4.1 None

### **Equalities Impact**

5.1 None

### Corporate objectives and priorities for change

6.1 None

#### Other (for example, Health and Safety, Environmental Sustainability, Property and Asset Management, Risk Management and Safeguarding)

7.1 None